Cover-girl

The cover-girl for this month’s,

Hair and beauty magazine,

Has got no pores,

No blemishes, no signs of age or fatigue,

No character, no laughter lines,

No wrinkles, freckles or scars,

No red blood vessels in the whites of her eyes,

Here teeth are regimented,

Perfect and blindingly white.

 

She sports a hairdo straight from,

A futuristic space movie,

Asymmetric, with sharp, exact,

Ultra-smooth layers,

It hangs on her head like,

A lopsided lampshade,

It looks ridiculous,

She looks ridiculous.

 

Well, I bought the magazine.

 

I look in the mirror,

I pluck stray whiskers from my chin,

I gaze at my pockmarked complexion,

Look myself in my bloodshot eyes,

Set into a chubby pale, freckled face,

My frizzy hair is a messed-up law unto itself,

Greasy and thin, and it needs ironing.

 

I brush my remaining stained teeth,

Inspect my crooked smile,

My thin lips,

I reach for my makeup bag,

The cover-girl for this month’s,

Hair and beauty magazine,

Makes me feel ridiculous.

Leave a Reply

