Hedonism

In hedonistic days,

Proving ourselves to be headstrong,

Was self-inflicted mental-masochism,

A test of endurance,

Repercussions and consequences,

Were for everyone else,

We thought ourselves immune, above risk,

Though, I was ambivalent,

About the company I was keeping.

 

By comparison, I was a shrinking violet,

Timid, new to the game,

Masquerading as someone who didn’t care,

I couldn’t have cared more,

I took everything I was given.

 

Growing thin on patience,

Thin in the flesh,

Through bad skin, sleepless nights,

Endless hangovers,

Cheap clothes,

Dirty bed sheets, stained carpets,

Whatever dive we lived in at the time.

 

If I was on the run,

I detached from myself,

There.

Leave a Reply

