Drift Away

Standing at the edge of the ocean,

Watching the tide roll away,

I’ve got a mind full of dreams to be seeking,

As I call the breeze to come take me away,

Take me away.

 

Thinking of the lines I should’ve written,

I could never find the right words to say,

I know someday, that I’ll be dancing with you,

Dancing where shadows play.

 

There is no rest as seasons go on turning,

There’s an empty space where you used to be,

You are gone, but this heart goes on beating,

Did you ever think of me? At all.

 

In the early hours of twilight, I sit waiting,

Listening to the birds in serenade,

I wake to only see the light of morning,

I wake to only greet another day,

That drifts away.

Leave a Reply

