Running Backwards

I’m not here to tell you how it goes,

I’m not here to tell you where it went,

You’re spent; hellbent, on trying to find,

If anything was worth saving anyway.

 

I see you running backwards,

Looking over your shoulder,

Searching untold distances,

With your minds eye.

Looking for that shiny something,

You must have missed along the way.

 

I’m not going to tell you how it goes,

I’m not going to show you where it went,

You’re spent; hellbent, on trying to find,

If anything was worth saving anyway.

 

I hope you find that shiny something,

That passed you by,

You’re heading for the old rut,

You have everything that was worth saving anyway,

You just kid yourself there’s something better,

Than this.

 

Leave a Reply

