Whispered Words

I don’t want to hear your shouting in my head anymore,

Don’t want to watch you smashing ornaments, slamming doors,

Don’t want to see you throw your weight in anger,

Most of all, I don’t want to see you sad.

 

I’ll take the whispered words you neglected to say,

The whispered words you wish you’d said today,

I’ll take the words that whispered just to say,

I love you, don’t take me for a fool; anymore.

 

I don’t want to hear those same recycled arguments anymore,

Don’t want to watch you fighting with the past, it’s not listening,

Don’t want to see you waving your hands in frustration,

Most of all, I don’t want to see you sad.

 

I’ll take the whispered words, you forgot to mention,

The whispered words that come well-reasoned,

Considered, softly spoken,

I’ll take the whispered words, and listen,

Catch your breath for a moment.

Leave a Reply

